If you are a Louisiana Resident and you want to get a divorce, you probably have to live separate and apart from your spouse. Unless you are able to obtain a fault divorce for reasons such as adultery, there are specific periods of separation required by Louisiana Law. In most cases where there is a child of the marriage, the parties are required to separate for a period of 365 days. In most cases where the parties do not have children of the marriage, separation is required for 180 days. Children of the marriage include children born during the marriage as well as those adopted by the parties. It is also important to note that reconciliation of the parties restarts the separation clock. So if you briefly reconcile after being separated for 30 days, a new 180 or 365 day period is required prior to obtaining a divorce. For more information, please contact a lawyer.